Committee Introduction

Established on the 8th of August, 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) has since gained regional and international recognition as an intergovernmental organization promoting economic, political, security, military, educational and socio-cultural integration of its members. At the time of foundation, the five founding countries were encountered with rising domestic problems, necessitating the common display of cooperation.

The organization currently has 10 states with 2 observers, with a nominal GDP growth of more than USD $2.8 trillion - the sixth largest economy worldwide. By 1991, Thailand proposed the idea of a free trade zone, strengthening the economic cooperation of members. The ASEAN Summit as well as ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) are two of many forums in which Member Countries’ leaders can converse about multitudinous matters.

Topic 1: Establishing a common regulation framework of Pharmaceutical Trade

Topic 2: Establishing a political and humanitarian solution to the Rohingya crisis

Committee Chairs

Phuong Le

Clara Hoa Cuvelier

Thuan An Nguyen