The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) was established in 1945 along with the founding of the United Nations (UN) itself at the end of World War II. One of the six principal organs of the UN, UNSC is unique among the committees offered at IVMUN in its membership, scope, and power.

At any given time, the UNSC comprises fifteen member states. Amongst these, five are permanent (the P5): the People’s Republic of China, the French Republic, the United States of America, the Russian Federation, and the United Kingdom. These countries, being the most powerful victors of World War II, enjoy the power to veto any potential UNSC resolutions. The remaining ten members in the committee serve for two years each, and are voted upon bi-yearly by the General Assembly.

The history and structure of the UNSC have developed in a unique way due to its unique, precautionary, and reactionary role in the UN: it is meant to respond to international crises and maintain international peace. In response to such crises, the Council can mandate decisive actions such as peace talks, mediations, negotiations, and emergency meetings. Furthermore, according to Chapter VII of the United Nations Charter, the Council can approve the use of force should there be no other way to maintain international peace. The Security Council can also deploy UN peacekeeping operations and impose sanctions on states. Only the UNSC has this power.

TOPIC: The India-Pakistan Conflicts


Duc Minh Pham

Seung Won Kwon


Hai Nam Le

Huu Trung La